Come Together in Unity


The founding members of the Congressional Black Caucus (1971).   Standing L-R: Parren Mitchell, Charles Rangel, Bill Clay, Ron Dellums, George W. Collins, Louis Stokes, Ralph Metcalfe, John Conyers, and Walter Fauntroy.  Seated L-R: Robert N.C. Nix, Sr., Charles Diggs, Shirley Chisholm, and Augustus F. Hawkins. Photo courtesy U.S. Congress.

On January 4, 1969 the Congressional Black Caucus was founded first as the “Democratic Select Committee.”  This group of US legislators of African descent aims to “achieve greater equity” for Black people and counts improving educational access and health care for all among its priorities.

The Congressional Black Caucus was founded during a time in American history when  the Black Power movement’s calls for self-determination

Pages: 1 2
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. BDJ

     /  January 14, 2016

    The idea was a good one: sad it was only window dressing at best!
    Really say Charles Rangle still cashing checks in the name of Charles Rangle!
    Look what happen to Harlem during that time frame with his oversight!
    Add up all of his checks over the years! Thank god he is finally on his way out!
    50 years too late!
    Otherwise a moment too remember indeed!!!!!!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s