It’s Gonna Be Alright Palante Siempre Palante

This time of year I tend to congratulate myself about what I have managed to accomplish during the summer and soothe myself with gelato about the things on my to-do list that will have to be pushed back into Fall.  All of us who are doing important work – either as educators, artists, activists, students or volunteers – have more passion than money — more good ideas than time to execute them.  What’s the best way to surrender to this reality dishonoring our spirit?

At the Progressive Pupil office this summer, we’ve been listening to Kendrick Lamar’s ‘It’s Gonna Be Alright” on repeat.  This song, which has become the unofficial theme of #BlacklLivesMatter, is an affirmation that has long been passed down from grandmother to grandchild in African American communities.  In spite of all the challenges we who believe in freedom face, and the dark truths that must be confronted in doing this work with integrity, it’s gonna be alright.

Pages: 1 2
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. The Black & Cuban concept has been a fluid one for years, sometimes positive and at other times negative. I grew up with Afro/Cuban Jazz environment in New Jersey/New York; so the connection has always been a rich and rewarding one for me personally!
    But I also grew up understanding why Cuba was so divided by the racial drama of its day. Just like the United States then and now. Florida’s Cuban population may take exception to your organization waxing and waning so poetically about the connection.
    But me I cool with the whole thought of those Afro/Cuban rhythms in the background of one of Leroy Jones poems from back in the day!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Crista Carter

     /  September 28, 2015

    Many times I beat myself up for not being the ” world changer” that I was raised to be. I did not understand that though I am no global figure head, I am a world changer in my family and in my community . We spend so much time meditating on the things that we haven’t done or our inability to keep up with our own personal timelines. I would add to this by saying ” be fluid so that you can keep moving forward.” Even if your journey doesn’t follow the route you planned you have to believe that you will get to where you need to be.

    Like

    Reply
  3. phuong

     /  November 2, 2015

    Kendrick Lamar delivered a powerful message in his video and his message. It made me think of Nelson Mandela and his message. He fought for justice, peace and equality, and was put in prison for 27 years because people thought he was a terrorist. They may have kept him in captivity, but they didn’t capture his mind. He touched and inspired the world through his perseverance and he made people believed that everything will be “alright.”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

