#BlackLivesMatter

beauty

All over the country the #BlackLivesMatter movement has spread, making an impact here at The New School as well. I am only an ally to the cause; I don’t personally know what it is like to be Black in this country. However, I do know what it is like to be a person of color and the challenges that comes with it. I understand the discrimination communities of color face.

When I came to The New School a year ago, I did not expect to encounter so many people standing up for a variety of important issues, especially from within a university. In my undergraduate experience, the only cause that was continually fought for were LGBTQGNC rights. My school was not in a socially active city like New York City. It feels like I came to The New School at the right time; The University Center even opened an entire “hub” for social justice.

The Baldwin Rivera Boggs Social Justice hub was filled with fliers all advocating for #BlackLivesMatter. Those fliers are still hanging in numerous places. There have been installations of photographs of those who were killed because of racial injustice A month ago there was an emergency meeting on campus as a response to the murder of Mike Brown in Ferguson, MO. It was peaceful–they just wanted to be heard and known. Right near our school, at Union Square, students gathered on 22 October for National Day of Protest to Stop Police Brutality, Repression and the Criminalization of a Generation. And it keeps spreading.

I continually see this movement intensifying. I agree that it should. If people want to be heard then they need to make themselves known.

I’ve seen this movement come alive. There are real people behind these stories. Real families affected by the oppression still prevalent in our country. It’s time we engage in the transformations ourselves.

By Nadia Peer

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

