Haitian Revolution and Latinidad

Toussaint L’Ouverture, Leader of the Haitian Revolution

This is a picture of Toussaint L’Ouverture, he led the only successful slave rebellion during the Haitian Revolution. Though I learned about Toussaint L’Ouverture growing up, the entirety of his contributions to Latino culture, and Haiti’s relationship to Latinidad, was not emphasized until I was older.

Like many other people of color in this country, I was not specifically taught about my cultural history during my K-12 education. Once I reached college, everything I knew about Latino culture and history was gleaned from either social interaction, segments of history class, movies, and my parents. I had to purposefully seek out courses on Latino history to know even the little bit that I know today.

During my 4th year of college, I decided to take classes on Latin American history. The experience has been an important part of my journey, connecting me with my heritage. The thing I valued most about these classes was learning about the vital role Haiti, and the Haitian Revolution, had on Latino nationalism. I strongly believe Haiti is the origin of Latinidad and contributed fundamentally important ideas about Latino identity and culture.

Pages: 1 2
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Christina B.

     /  November 11, 2014

    As a young Haitian American, I can conquer that my education on Haiti’s history came from my parents. Nowhere in my History or Geography books did I find dates and names of Haiti’s revolution. When I finally learned the truth and true meaning of why Haitian’s are such proud people, a lot made since, but it left me asking ‘why are Haitian’s not given the credit that they earned and deserve?’

    Like

    Reply
  2. Clayton

     /  November 11, 2014

    This is a great example of how so many important stories in history are “forgotten” or untold in schools across the U.S., especially when it comes to our history of slavery, imperialism, and colonialism. It’s critical for all of us to know about where we come from and who we are, and in a diverse and multicultural society that means fairly teaching history in a way that represents all groups honestly.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

